Search

Newsletter image

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Join 10k+ people to get notified about new posts, news and tips.

Do not worry we don't spam!

GDPR Compliance

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service.

‘How is he not off?’ – Fans baffled by Ipswich keeper’s blunder but little-known rule says he shouldn’t even be booked

Published on April 05, 2025 at 03:42 PM

FANS called for Ipswich goalkeeper Alex Palmer to be sent off after he used his hands to clear a back-pass off the line.

But a little-known rule saved him from being booked for his shocking blunder, with Ipswich 1-0 up on Wolves at the time.

Soccer players on a field near the goal.
Fans called for Ipswich goalkeeper Alex Palmer to be sent off after he used his hands to clear a back-pass off the line
Soccer players preparing for a penalty kick.
Referee Anthony Taylor immediately awarded an indirect free-kick to Wolves inside the six-yard box.

Ipswich passed the ball back to Palmer but he let the ball run through his legs.

It was about to roll over the line before the stopper chased back and scooped it up with his hands.

Referee Anthony Taylor immediately awarded an indirect free-kick to Wolves inside the six-yard box.

All 11 Ipswich player gathered across the line in unison, as seven Wolves stars stood inside the box on top of the ball.

But Wolves had to pass the ball before shooting, which allowed the relegation-threatened home side to clear.

Wolves touched the free-kick to Emmanuel Agbadou who belted it from six yards but Sam Morsy was out quickly to block it away.

However, fans were outraged and confused as to why Palmer hadn't been sent off for denying a clear goalscoring opportunity.

But the rules clearly show that it's not a bookable offence.

The International Football Association Board (IFAB) who set the laws of the game state if a goalkeeper handles a backpass “an indirect free kick is awarded and no card is shown.”

The Football Association's guidance is also clear: “If the goalkeeper handles the ball inside their penalty area when not permitted to do so, an indirect free kick is awarded but there is no disciplinary sanction.”

Liam Delap opened the scoring inside 16 minutes after a lengthly VAR check.

THIS IS A DEVELOPING STORY..

Flying Eze is your go to destination for the best football, boxing and MMA news, real-life stories, jaw-dropping pictures and must-see video.Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/TheSunFootball and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSunFootball.

Prev Article

Inside the Maison Valor Escape: The Ultimate Luxury Wellness Retreat for Women

Next Article

Chelsea ‘breach UEFA limits on financial losses’, could be banned from Europe

Related to this topic:

Comments (0):

Be the first to write a comment.

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *