Search

Newsletter image

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Join 10k+ people to get notified about new posts, news and tips.

Do not worry we don't spam!

GDPR Compliance

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service.

EPL: Freekick was taken already – Referee’s decision on Ronaldo’s goal against Newcastle questioned

Published on October 17, 2022 at 12:00 PM

Football pundit, Sam Matterface, has opined that referee Graig Pawson was wrong to have disallowed Cristiano Ronaldo’s goal for Manchester United during their Premier League clash with Newcastle United on Sunday.

Pawwas decided to book the Portuguese after the 37-year-old thought he had broken the deadlocks in the early minutes of the second half.

The Portuguese icon scored the bizarre goal after taking the ball off the Newcastle goalkeeper Nick Pope in the middle of the pitch.

However, Pawson blew his whistle to bring back play and let the visitors take the free-kick that they were initially awarded for an earlier offside.

But Ronaldo and his teammates protested the referee’s decision and argued that the free-kick had already been taken.

Matterface said, “That free-kick was taken. That free-kick was taken by somebody else. Ronaldo’s telling Fabian Schar and said ‘You touched that back to Nick Pope.’ And he did!

“I think that’s quite generous to Newcastle United. It’s sloppy play from Nick Pope and Fabian Schar, who I think had already taken the free-kick.”;

Prev Article

EPL: Chelsea’s James breaks silence amid claims he could miss World Cup

Next Article

New EP: Zadok – Preacher of Love

Related to this topic:

Comments (0):

Be the first to write a comment.

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *