Search

Newsletter image

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Join 10k+ people to get notified about new posts, news and tips.

Do not worry we don't spam!

GDPR Compliance

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service.

‘There’s no excuse’ – jockey banned for 32 DAYS after throwing race away with winning post error at Sandown

Published on December 03, 2022 at 07:39 PM

PUNTERS were left raging and a jockey was banned for a whopping 32 DAYS after he lost a race at Sandown by riding to the WRONG winning post.

There are two winning lines at Sandown – one for the hurdles track and one for the chase track.

Ben Bromley and Call Me Lord (green colours) led at the first winning post at SandownBut he mistakenly thought he had won the race and stopped ridingBromley’s mistake allowed 18-1 shot Dolphin Square to win by a noseAnd young jockey Ben Bromley stopped riding after passing the first winning line when he should have ridden to the second one – and he ended up losing the race by a nose.

He was riding the well-fancied 4-1 shot Call Me Lord, who looked set to hold on in a tight finish from the 18-1 shot Dolphin Square.

Bromley sat upright in the saddle in celebration thinking he had won the big £25,000 hurdle race.

But, to his horror, he ended up gifting victory to Dolphin Square, who had his nose in front at the correct winning post.

A red-faced Bromley said: “I rode to the wrong winning line, it’s a stupid mistake and won’t happen again.”;

It’s fair to say that punters on course and at home were not amused and queried why Sandown still has two winning posts in operation.

One tweeted: “Absolutely fuming. You have to be aware of the two winning posts but this is also the courses fault.”;

Another said: “I feel sorry for the backers of call me lord who currently are sticking there head in the fridge. What an absolute howler.”;

While another added: “There’s no excuse for this. Racing at Sandown the two posts have to be in your mind. Punters money done and you would hope a massive ban.”;

Bromley was banned for a whopping 28 days by the stewards for riding to the wrong line, plus an extra four days for overuse of the whip.

It is not the first time that the use of two winning posts has caused confusion in a finish at Sandown.

In April 2019, One For Rosie was mistakenly called the winner of a big race when the judge used the wrong winning line when assessing a photo finish.

FREE BETS GET OVER £2,000 IN SIGN UP OFFERS HERE

Commercial content notice: Taking one of the bookmaker offers featured in this article may result in a payment to The Sun. 18+. T&Cs apply. Begambleaware.org


Remember to gamble responsibly

A responsible gambler is someone who:

  • Establishes time and monetary limits before playing
  • Only gambles with money they can afford to lose
  • Never chases their losses
  • Doesn’t gamble if they’re upset, angry or depressed
  • Gamcare – www.gamcare.org.uk
  • Gamble Aware – www.begambleaware.org
Prev Article

Ex-UFC beauty Paige VanZant shows off bum in tiny bikini and shares behind-the-scenes video of sexy photo shoot

Next Article

Riches by Prime Video explores Black Excellence & Entrepreneurship

Related to this topic:

Comments (0):

Be the first to write a comment.

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *