Search

Newsletter image

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Join 10k+ people to get notified about new posts, news and tips.

Do not worry we don't spam!

GDPR Compliance

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service.

Lionel Messi’s second goal for Argentina should have been DISALLOWED, eagle-eyed fans claim as they spot rule violation

Published on December 19, 2022 at 01:27 AM

LIONEL MESSI’S second goal in the World Cup final should NOT have stood – eagle eyed fans claim.

The Argentine superstar bagged twice on the way to his side winning the trophy he coveted most this evening.

Lionel Messi put Argentina 3-2 up in extra timeThe 35-year-old celebrates his second goalHis first came from the penalty spot before Angel Di Maria made it 2-0, putting the Albiceleste in a commanding position.

Kylian Mbappe inspired an incredible late French comeback, however, his quick-fire double sending the match into extra time.

Messi, 35, put his side back in front in the 108th minute, however, netting the rebound after Hugo Lloris saved Lautaro Martinez’s shot.

It initially appeared that the effort might be ruled out for offside, when the linesman momentarily raised his flag.

But when TV pictures confirmed Martinez had in fact been onside in the build-up, the goal, which was nearly cleared off the line by defender Dayot Upamecano, was allowed to stand.

Watching a wide angle of the goal back, however, some fans believe that it SHOULD have been chalked off.

In a snap posted to Twitter, two Argentina substitutes could be seen on the pitch as Messi took the shot.

Their hasty celebrations meant that their side had 13 players on the field.

HOW TO GET FREE BETS ON THE WORLD CUP

Argentina had 13 players on the field as Messi put them 3-2 upOne fan wrote: “Trivia. When the ball goes in, there are two substitutes on the pitch. Argentina had thirteen players on the field.”;

A second replied: “I noticed that too.”;

While a third fumed: “Wordless. But Argentina can’t win a world championship without help? It’s shameful.”;

Another wondered: “I don’t know if it’s a technicality or if this can pass.”;

One commenter argued back that the infringement didn’t actually matter.

They tweeted: “Go read the rules, didn’t intervene in the bid and in the game, legal goal.

“This has already happened several times, including one in Libertadores.”;

As it happened, Mbappe would equalise again for France, netting from the penalty spot after Leandro Paredes’ handball.

Randal Kolo Muani had the chance to win it for Les Bleus with just seconds remaining but was brilliantly denied by Emi Martinez.

And the Argentine stopper then played a huge role in the penalty shoot-out, saving from Kingsley Coman and psyching out Aurelien Tchouameni on the way to a 4-2 win.

Prev Article

Man Utd vs Burnley: Stream, TV channel, team news and kick-off time as EFL Carabao Cup returns

Next Article

Qatar 2022: Argentina coach Scaloni reacts as Messi leads country to World Cup triumph

Related to this topic:

Comments (0):

Be the first to write a comment.

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *